I. AM. A. MARATHONER!

998295_10201340311933013_1348140231_n

Four days ago I joined the elite club of men and women as a marathoner. Statistics say only one tenth of one percent in the U.S. have actually finished a marathon. I still can’t believe it.

But my journey to the finish line was not easy. It required not only physical strength but mental.

Hitting the pavement

Weighing 197 pounds, I knew I needed to change.

Weighing 197 pounds, I knew I needed to change.

My trek started about a year ago. I stepped on the scale in October of 2012 and it read 197…. I had never weighed that much in my entire life. I am 5’5″ and I had let myself go for a couple of years. With the scale so close to 200. I knew something needed to change. I began doing workout DVDs at home and using our elliptical machine again. I lost about 10 or 15 pounds at first. But then I was stuck.

My cousin, Veronica approached me about running a half marathon in April. I never really ran in my life and I have to say I HATED running. In high school I played soccer and did run track and cross country – but I only did that to get faster in soccer. I HATED, LOATHED it. So I thought why the hell not? I reached out to my marathon friend Dan – whom I now call my running “sensei.” I asked him if it was even possible for me to accomplish my goal with about 3 months to the race? I mean most people start off with a 5K or 10K before jumping to 13.1 miles.

He said Yes! Pointed me in the direction of Hal Higdon’s web site (http://www.halhigdon.com/) that offered a beginner’s 12 week program. I used the Novice 1 Half Marathon program and I was off. I dumped the $90 into the entry of the race to seal the deal. No turning back now.

I started my training in February. At first running one mile without stopping was hard. I thought I was going to die. I remember the first time I even ran 3 miles without stopping, I thought I was unstoppable. But each mile after that felt so tough. I doubted myself and wonder how the hell could I run 13.1 miles?! But I stuck to my training diligently. I never cheated, I never skipped. Training began to consume my life. I also vented to Dan about once a day with very, very length emails about questions I had, injuries I got, my own fears, my own accomplishments. As a seasoned vet at running, Dan gave me the confidence, support and advice I needed to keep going.

Fast forward a bit to April when the Fitness Magazine’s Half Marathon began. I started crying as I started the race, I just couldn’t believe I was there! When I finished the race I thought I LOVE this. Running became an addiction to me. At that point I had lost a ton of weight too.

So I thought hmmm, running a half was tough, why not double it?! That does not sound crazy! I mean running 26.2 miles is completely sane! So one night, with a bit of liquid encouragement I registered myself for the Philadelphia 20th Anniversary Marathon! $90 down, no cancellations… I was all in.

Once again talking to Dan and relying on Hal’s program I gave up my life to running. I attempted to try Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 Marathon program for the first 3 weeks and realized I was pushing myself and was not ready for it. Luckily, the programs are great because you can go up or down a level without a problem. I settled on the Novice 1 Marathon program. Mark, my husband, was there every step of the way. We had our share of arguments over me sacrificing our weekends to running. But he stuck with me. He even changed his cooking to help give me the runners nutrition I needed. I have to say eating extra carbs was wonderful.

Philly Marathon!

I bought this size 8 little black dress after losing 50 pounds in November.

I bought this size 8 little black dress after losing 50 pounds in November.

18 weeks later I was getting ready for my FIRST FULL MARATHON!! What had I done? Was I crazy? Well the nerves hit the Sunday before when I went for an easy… yes I can truthfully say that I now say to friends that I just had to run an easy 8 miler. lol. I never would’ve thought in my wildest dreams I could say that. Anyway I tried to run my last long run of 8 miles and my foot started hurting. I did another easy 4 miles on Tuesday but ended up resting the rest of the week to help my foot heal. I had pain on the ball of my right foot. But it would be hell or high water if I wasn’t going to run through the pain. I had done it before, I can do it again. I was worried though that 26.2 miles of pain may do me in.

We got to Philly on Saturday, Nov. 16 checked in our hotel in Cherry Hill, only 10 minutes from the starting line, got my bib number, got some cheese steaks and then I “tried” to sleep. Yeah right. I was literally jumping on the beds because my nerves were crazy. I was crazy!

Sunday, Nov. 17  came and I woke up at 4 a.m. got ready had my breakfast and water and went to Philly to wait 2 and a half hours before I started the race. Waiting in lines for porta potties, chatting with fellow runners, shivering, it was great! Then the race started, there were 35,000 people lined up to start for the half and full marathon. The race started at 7 but I didn’t actually get to the starting line until 7:30 a.m. because of the crowd. Thank goodness for timing chips!

It was a cold, damp morning but it was great running weather since you warm up. As I began running, the experience was truly incredible. There were strangers, fans, family, people just lined up the ENTIRE way, or 95 percent of it. I mean they had signs, cow bells ( never enough cow bells!), horns, whistles, foam fingers, costumes – the crowds were insane. I mean they were all cheering for you! Our bibs had our names on them so people kept yelling “Go Alexis!” “You got this Alexis! “Looking good Alexis” “Great pace Alexis!” “Rock it Alexis!” “Keep it up Alexis!” … I mean I have no idea who they were but I felt like in that moment they were all there for me. Little kids holding their hands out to slap mine! Like I was a celebrity!

Signs that said “Push here for extra power!” “You think running a marathon is tough try holding a sign for 5 hours!” “Worst parade ever!” etc. etc… I owe so much to the crowds they are something you can not describe. Beer, chocolate, brownies, pretzels, tissues were all given out for free to runners from fans too. It was like one giant party.

I have to say the first half marathon or 13.1 miles I was on fire I felt great! I didn’t even need my iPod because the crowds pushed me. But once the half marathoners veered off to their finish and my mind realized I still had another 13.1 miles to go I started to feel down. Between miles 17 to 20, I hit the “wall.” My hamstrings were so tight I had to stop and walk several times and even stop to stretch them out. The worst part was, that as you were running up the street, the elite, faster runners were also running that same street on the other side coming back to finish. So going out is so tough. You keep thinking this has got to be the place where I turn around and its not.

Mentally my mind was quitting on me. But the crowd kept pushing me. What really pushed me was Mark. I carried my cellphone with me just in case Mark needed to find me. The entire race from start to finish he sent me motivational texts. At mile 20 he said “we have beer at the finish and if you hurry we will give you some!” Ha! I started bolting!

I realized at mile 21 that wow I have never run farther than 20 miles in my life and I only have 5.2 miles to go, I can do this! I took off! My adrenaline kept me going until about mile 24/25. I started to slow but saw the pace group for 5:30, I didn’t want my time to be longer than 5 hours 30 minutes. I was hoping for a time of 5 hours, but I though oh well, lets push for 5:30. I told the pacer I was going to stick with him and we did. Or I did until a fan yelled out “Only a half mile to go!” I turned to the pacer and said “see ya!”

Passing by my supportive family as I approached the finish line!

Passing by my supportive family as I approached the finish line!

I started sprinting! I couldn’t help it, I was filled with euphoria and happiness and accomplishment. The finishing line crowd was the best. As I approached the line I saw Mark, my brother Victor and his g/f Sarah! I couldn’t stop smiling. I sprinted by them, but turned for my glamour shots and gave them the thumbs up as I whizzed by. The finish line was right there! Tears were bubbling up and my emotions were taking over.

I high-fived the mayor of Philly who waited at the finish line to slap each runners’ hand and raised my arms in the air as I crossed that line. As they draped the heat blanket around my shoulders and the medal around my neck I started to cry. I did it. I saw Mark and collapsed in his arms. I did it. I am  a marathoner. It took me 5:36:28 but I finished. I then said to Mark, “never again.” Only that changed the next morning when I told him I want to do another marathon in the spring.

I only began running in February and its November now – 10 months and I am hooked. Running has changed my life, it has built my self confidence and made me mentally stronger. To top it off, I now weigh 147 pounds I have lost 50 pounds, went from a size 12 dress to size 8 and more inches than I can imagine.

I am addicted to running and I will never stop. I. Am. A. Marathoner. 🙂

Mark and I at the end.

Mark and I at the end.

4 thoughts on “I. AM. A. MARATHONER!

  1. Congrats! Really a great achievement coming from somebody planning to run a Full Marathon after two half Marathon. Would have helped if you put what training plan you followed for your Marathon.. I guess one of those from halhigdon

  2. Thank you, Alexis, for writing about this!! It’s such a great story. It reminded me of all the thrills of running my first. Someday, you’ll look back on this story and though it will feel like a distant memory, it will help you recall the special feeling that it generated. Congratulations again, from your “sensei”!

Leave a comment